The tale of the drafty-ass bedroom

Yesterday morning, AllysonD and I were hanging out in her room when, suddenly, I could see my own breath. I mini-freaked! Her room always a little chilly ue to her old, drafty windows; but it’s never gotten to a point where I cold visualize the coldness in the air. Measures needed to be taken to improve the bedroom’s warmth:

– Two of her storm windows weren’t shut. So we had to open those bad boys up and push the sotrm windows down; and, therefore, we let the cold winter air blow in, eliminating the little warmth we already had.

– Added yet another blanket to a bed that’s already three blankets deep (plus flannel sheets).

– We also added a second blanket to the drafty window that is directly behind the bed. Seran wrap and a hairdrier is generally the solution for such a problem; but with two kitties in tha house, it’s not really an option.

It was a tthis point we finally checked the temperature to see that the windchill was a very un-Chicago -30 degrees! It may have been the coldest Chicago day i’ve had to endure since I’ve lived in the city. I know it’s a pretty standard Minnesotawinter temp; but I was pretty alarmed anway.

I remember back in elementary school/jr. high we RARELY got snow days; but instead, we’d have cold days because the superintendant didn’t want a bunch of icicle children waiting outdoors for a schoolbus. It always gets my goat when I hear from people who grew up in the south, that if there was a dusting of snow on the ground. Not only would the school’s be shut down, but everything would come to a screeching halt. I just can’t fathom how a snow flurry can stir that much fear in the hearts of the country’s southern folk.

In short, everything below the Mason-Dixon line is awful…and most likely morbidly obese.

BURNT!

2 Responses to “The tale of the drafty-ass bedroom”

  1. AllysonD Says:

    Um, Pat Tracy! I wish you wouldn’t tell the WHOLE WORLD we sleep in the same bed sometimes. You are ruining my reputation.

  2. Jacob Says:

    Hey Patty,

    I heard you n Al be shackin up. She must be one of those “loose” ladiez.

    Sincerely,

    Jo Bob

Leave a comment